Back to All Events

Solem Quartet

Richard Booth's Bookshop, Hay-on-Wye

Tickets:  £14

Please note:  time given for end of concert is approximate.

Solem pic.jpg

Amy Tress - Violin         William Newell - violin

Alistair Vennart - viola         Stephani Tress - cello

We are thrilled to welcome this brilliant young quartet back to Hay after their outstanding concert in St Mary’s Church last year.

Formed at The University of Manchester, the quartet takes its name from the university motto ‘arduus ad solem’ meaning ‘striving towards the sun’. They have a busy schedule performing at venues both across the UK – including Wigmore Hall and Queen Elizabeth Hall,  and internationally. Their extensive repertoire spans the period from early Haydn to living composers such as Emily Howard, whose quartet ‘Afference’ they performed in a BBC Proms Extra broadcast, live on BBC Radio 3 and Thomas Ades whose piece they play at this concert. Since September 2016 the Solem Quartet has been ‘Quartet in Residence’ at the University of Liverpool. They are also ‘Ensemble in Residence’ at Aberystwyth MusicFest and are particularly excited to have been privately commissioned to undertake a complete Beethoven and Bartok cycle, which will start in 2020 and take place in London and Aberystwyth over a three year period.

They will play:

Haydn:  String Quartet in D major op 71 no 2

Thomas Ades:  'The Four Quarters'

Beethoven:  String Quartet in C major op 59 no 3

Haydn’s three quartets opus 71 were written in Vienna between his two visits to London. Whereas his previous quartets had been written for private performance to small audiences, those in op 71 were to be performed in the Hanover Rooms which seated about 800 and are more forceful and flamboyant, with faster movements than their predecessors, often achieving an almost orchestral sonority.

'The Four Quarters' by the prolific contemporary composer Thomas Ades (with whom the Solem has worked) is  based on the metaphor of the diurnal cycle…thus  the four movements ‘Nightfalls’, ‘Morning Dew’, ‘Days’ and ‘The Twenty Fifth Hour’.

Beethoven’s  three ‘Razumovsky’  string quartets, opus 59 were written  in 1806 as a result of a commission by the Russian ambassador in Vienna, Count Andreas Razumovsky. They are the first three of what are usually known as the ‘Middle Period’ string quartets. Beethoven used a characteristically Russian theme in the first two quartets in honour of the Prince who gave him the commission. In the third quartet there is no ‘Thème russe’ explicitly named in the score, but many commentators have heard a Russian character in the subject of the Andantino movement.

Earlier Event: July 8
Norrington String Trio
Later Event: August 12
Clare Hammond (piano)